New Google Feature Lets You Decide What Happens To Your Data When You Die
Google has just brought out a new feature which allows you to decide what happens to your data in the event of your account being ineffective for a certain amount of time.
It is called the Inactive Account Manager and in short it tells Google what should you happen should you inevitably cross over to the other side.
What should happen to your photos, emails and documents when you stop using your account? Google puts you in control.
You might want your data to be shared with a trusted friend or family member, or, you might want your account to be deleted entirely. There are many situations that might prevent you from accessing or using your Google account. Whatever the reason, we give you the option of deciding what happens to your data.
Using Inactive Account Manager, you can decide if and when your account is treated as inactive, what happens with your data and who is notified.
So you will be able to set the timeout period (3,6,12 months), get alerts when the time is close and have a setting which notifies trusted associates that you are no longer using that account.
Something worth having a look at once it is available on Google Apps.