Zimbabwe squad for ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2018 out

The Zimbabwe team on duty against Afghanistan in Dubai has been chosen as the final 15 for the upcoming ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2018 from 4 to 25 February 2018.

Brendan Taylor

The big story is the exclusion of all rounder Sean Williams who is out injured.

Blessing Muzarabani who only got into the one day national team this January has forced himself into the team while there is a return for Tarisai Musakanda who has not played for Zimbabwe this year.

Brendan Taylor and Craig Ervine have played in three and two ICC Cricket World Cups, respectively, while Tendai Chatara, Graeme Cremer, Hamilton Masakadza, Solomon Mire and Sikandar Raza were also part of the Zimbabwe squad for the World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.

The side also includes left-arm fast bowler Brian Vitori who took five wickets in each of his first two ODIs back in 2011 to set a record at the time.

Zimbabwe had a combined experience of 842 ODIs prior to the start of their series against Afghanistan. By the time the series ends on 19 January in Sharjah, Zimbabwe will become the most experienced side in the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2018 with nearly 900 ODI caps.

Two teams qualify for the 2019 Cricket World Cup from the 10 participating teams.

Full Zimbabwe Squad: Graeme Cremer (captain), Ryan Burl, Tendai Chatara, Tendai Chisoro, Craig Ervine, Kyle Jarvis, Hamilton Masakadza, Solomon Mire, Peter Moor, Tarisai Musakanda, Blessing Muzarabani, Sikandar Raza, Brendan Taylor, Brian Vitori, Malcolm Waller. Heath Streak (coach)

Teams can make changes to their squads without needing an ICC approval until 25 February. All player replacement requests from 25 February onwards will require the approval of the Event Technical Committee.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14,192 other subscribers