Vitori, Burl join Zimbabwe squad for Afghanistan series

Zimbabwe coach Heath Streak has picked his first opportunity to select his prized bowler Brian Vitori for the limited overs series starting on Monday with the first of two Twent20 internationals.

Brian Vitori

Vitori was cleared to bowl again after a 12-month ban and featured in the A side series against Kenya currently on at Mutare Sports Club.

Zimbabwe captain Graeme Cremer on Vitori’s return:

I am very pleased as the captain to have someone of Brian’s ability in my side. He is a true competitor. He brings great strength and versatility to our seam bowling attack, and we look forward to seeing him on the park again

Ryan Burl is also picked  for the limited over series while the trio of Brandon Mavuta, Ryan Murray and Chris Mpofu are with the A side.

The second T20 match is on Tuesday.

PREVIEW: Zimbabwe  need to get the Afghanistan monkey off their back in this series

The five-match one-day international (ODI) series, preparation for the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2018 tourney to be hosted in Zimbabwe,  will then follow, starting on Friday.


1st T20I – 5 February 2018
2nd T20I – 6 February 2018

1st ODI  –   9 February 2018
2nd ODI – 11 February 2018
3rd ODI – 13 February 2018
4th ODI – 16 February 2018
5th ODI – 19 February 2018


1Hamilton Masakadza
2Solomon Mire
3Craig Ervine
4Brendan Taylor
5Sikandar Raza
6Peter Moor
7Malcolm Waller
8Graeme CremerCaptain
9Brian Vitori
10Tendai Chisoro
11Blessing Muzarabani
12Ryan Burl
13Tendai Chatara
14Kyle Jarvis

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14,053 other subscribers