Uncapped Muzarabani, Mavuta and Murray picked for Bangladesh tri-series

Zimbabwe have picked three uncapped players for the tri-series in Bangladesh involving the hosts and Sri Lanka.

PIC: @ZimCricketv Twitter

Former under-19 stars Brandon Mavuta and Ryan Murray are in the squad while recent test debutant Blessing Muzarabani has been picked. None of them have played for the national team at one day level.

Sean Williams remains unpicked for selection as preparations for the ICC World Cup Qualifier to be held in Zimbabwe step up..

Malcolm Waller, Zimbabwe’s third highest run-scorer at ODI level since February 2018 is in the squad after having missed out on the historic boxing day test.

In the tri-series, Zimbabwe will play Bangladesh in the first match on 15 January, before Heath Streak’s charges face Sri Lanka two days later.

After taking on Sri Lanka again on 21 January, Zimbabwe will have a day’s rest before entertaining Bangladesh for the second time.

The final is scheduled for 27 January.

All matches will be day-night games and will be played at the Shere Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur, Dhaka.


1Hamilton Masakadza
2Solomon Mire
3Craig Ervine
4Brendan Taylor
5Sikandar Raza
6Peter Moor
7Malcolm Waller
8Graeme CremerCaptain
9Ryan Murray
10Tendai Chisoro
11Brandon Mavuta
12Blessing Muzarabani
13Christopher Mpofu
14Tendai Chatara
15Kyle Jarvis