Ireland name squad for Zim-hosted ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier tournament

Ireland have named their 15-man squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier set for Zimbabwe from 4 to 25 March.

PIC: @IrelandCricket twitter

Ireland attempt to make their fourth consecutive appearance at the world showcase, their first time as a full member.

Batsman James Shannon gets a nod but Stuart Poynter and Jacob Mulder miss out from the side that won a triangular recently.

As part of preparation for the Qualifier, the Irish will play four warm-up matches in South Africa before moving on to Zimbabwe where they  have two more against the hosts and Hong Kong.

After that Ireland move to Harare.

They are in the same group as the Windies who released their squad on Thursday.

Ireland World Cup Qualifier squad:

William Porterfield (Formby/Warriors, capt), Andrew Balbirnie (Pembroke/Lightning), Peter Chase (Malahide/Lightning), George Dockrell (Leinster/Lightning), Ed Joyce (Merrion/Lightning), Andrew McBrine (Donemana/Warriors), Barry McCarthy (Durham), Tim Murtagh (Middlesex), Kevin O’Brien (Railway Union/Lightning), Niall O’Brien (Nantwich/Warriors, wk), Boyd Rankin (Warwickshire), James Shannon (Instonians/Knights), Simi Singh (YMCA/Lightning), Paul Stirling (Middlesex), Gary Wilson (Derbyshire, wk).

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14,174 other subscribers