How Zim voted in FIFA Best Player of the Year 2016. Captain AWOL

So Real Madrid and Portugal forward Cristiano Ronaldo was crowned as expected the FIFA Best Player of the Year 2016 in Zurich.

Zifa president Philip Chiyangwa (r) with Leicester City coach Claudio Ranieri

Leicester coach Claudio Ranieri was named coach of the year, USA’s Carli Lloyd the women’s player of the year, Germany Sylvia Neid the women’s coach of the year.

But the question is how did Zimbabwe vote?

So the format is that the national coach, the captain and representative of the media will represent countries. Except there was for some reason no entry for the captain in spite of Willard Katsande being the substantive captain of the Warriors. Kalisto Pasuwa cast his ballot while Chipo Sabeta represented the media in the two categories they voted in.

They each pick three names, the first one getting five points, the second three and the final one point.

Men’s Player of the year

Pasuwa – Lionel Messi | Cristiano Ronaldo | Manuel Neuer

Sabeta – ¬†Cristiano Ronaldo | Lionel Messi | N’Golo Kante

Men’s Coach of the year

Pasuwa Р Fernando Santos | Luis Enrique | Diego Siemone

Sabeta – Claudio Ranieri | Fernando Santos | Zinedine Zidane

There were no votes from Zimbabwe in any of the other sections