Uhuru Kenyatta Confirmed As Kenya’s Next President

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission  has declared Uhuru Kenyatta the duly elected president of Kenya.

The vote saw total number of votes cast at 12,330,028 which represents a 86% voter turnout. The breakdown is as follows.

  • Uhuru 6,173,433
  • Raila 5,340,546,
  • Musalia 483, 981
  •  Kenneth 72, 786,
  • Dida 52, 848
  • Karua 43,881
  • Kiyiapi 40,998,
  •  Muite 12, 580

Uhuru won 50.07% of votes cast and at least 25% in a minimum of 32 constituencies. At 51 Uhuru becomes the youngest president of Kenya.

In announcing the winner the IEBC applauded the media for its exemplary behaviour in handling the election with ‘modesty and professionalism’.

We congratulate Kenyatta on his win as well as the people of Kenya on a peaceful election.

What happens with Odinga now? We have no idea. All we know is that the west will be twitching a bit now given that they want to have Uhuru hung by its International Criminal Court.

Fun times ahead!