EU Eases Sanctions On Zimbabwe

The European Union has resolved to ease the sanctions (or restrictive measures as they choose to call them) on Zimbabwe.

EU foreign ministers lifted an asset freeze and travel ban against 21 Zimbabweans out of 112 currently on an EU blacklist and also struck one of 1 entity off the list, the officials said.

In a statement issued by the EU Council of Ministers said:

The Council adopted the following conclusions:

  1. The EU welcomes the agreement reached between the political parties in Zimbabwe on a final draft constitution and the announcement of a referendum. This step forward in the implementation of the Global Political Agreement (GPA) adds further momentum to the reform process and paves the way for the holding of peaceful, transparent and credible elections later this year.
  2. Recognising the significance of these advances the EU has agreed to suspend immediately the travel ban imposed on 6 Members of the Government of Zimbabwe. The EU has also agreed to delist 21 persons and one entity subject to restrictive measures.
  3. The EU is encouraged by the continued commitment of the South African Facilitation Team and the Southern African Development Community (SADC), as expressed at the recent extraordinary SADC Summits in Dar Es Salaam, in supporting the efforts of the Zimbabwean parties to implement the GPA and the SADC Roadmap.
  4. 4. As demonstrated in July 2012 and the agreement by the Council today the EU, consistent with its incremental approach, stands ready to further adjust its policy to recognise progress as it is made by the Zimbabwean parties along the SADC Roadmap. As stated in the Council Conclusions of July 2012, a peaceful and credible constitutional referendum would represent an important milestone justifying an immediate suspension of the majority of all remaining EU targeted restrictive measures against individuals and entities.
  5. Reaffirming its partnership with the people of Zimbabwe, the EU calls on all political parties to maintain the momentum allowing for the holding of democratic elections later this year and to complete the implementation of the GPA and the SADC Roadmap. The EU reiterates its commitment to political dialogue with the Government of National Unity and to work with any Government formed as the result of a peaceful, transparent and credible electoral process.

Among those whose restrictions, at least the visa ban,  have been suspended are: 2 members of the re-engagement team (minister of Justice & Foreign Affairs), Media Minister Webster Shamu, Lands Minister Herbert Murewa,  State Minister in the VP’s Office Sylvester Nguni and Sithembiso Nyoni (Small & Medium Enterprises).

Indiduals who had restrictions removed were David Chapfika, Tinaye Nzirasha, Tongesai Chipanga, R Kwenda, Shuvai Mahofa, G Mashava, Gilbert Moyo, S Mpabanga, Cephas Msipa, C Muchono, Isaac Mudenge, Mudonhi Columbus, Mugariri Botwell, Isaac Mumba, S Mutsvunguma, John Nkomo, Michael Nyambuya, David Parirenyatwa, Dani Rangwani, Richard Ruwodo and Patrick Zhuwao.

Divine Home (PVT) Ltd will also be removed from the restrictive measures list

However, ZMDC will not at this point have measures put on it restricted. Some sectors had expected the ban to be lifted after Belgium pushed for it.

Zimbabwe maintains that these sanctions are hurting the common man more than the individuals it targets.