ANC Leadership Nominations

The ANC has confirmed the nominations for the top 6 positions in the party at its conference in Mangaung.

These are

President: Kgalema Motlanthe and Jacob Zuma

Deputy President: Mathews Phosa, Cyril Ramaphosa and Tokyo Sexwale (Baleka Mbete and Kgalema Motlanthe withdrew)

Chairperson: Thandi Modise and Baleka Mbete

Secretary General: Fikile Mbalula and Gwede Mantashe

Deputy Secretary General:  Jessie Duarte (means she is now the ANC DSG)

Treasurer General: Paul Mashatile and Zweli Mkhize (Tokyo Sexwale and Lindiwe Sisulu withdrew)

While it looks as if Motlanthe has thrown all his eggs into one basket, we think that he may have resigned himself to losing and running on a Zuma ticket would be untenable.

Voting by secret ballot takes place today.