Indonesia Earthquake: Tsunami Warning Across 28 Countries

A tsunami warning has been issued across the Indian Ocean after an earthquake registering 8.7 on the Richter Scale hit waters off Indonesia on Wednesday.

There are reports of widespread panic in the region and Indonesia has sent a rescue mission to the Aceh region which was most hit by the tremor. Reuters says there tremors were also felt in Kolkata, Chennai, Bangalore, Patna, Kochi, Thiruvananthapuram, Cuttack, Bhubaneshwar and several other cities on the eastern coast of India. India has also issued tsunami warning for coastal regions of Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh, Andaman and Nicobar Islands following the earthquake.

The Pacific Tsunami Warning Centre issued a tsunami watch for 28 countries, including Indonesia, India, Sri Lanka, Australia, Myanmar, Thailand, Maldives, Britain, Malaysia, Mauritius, Syechelles, Pakistan, Somalia, Oman, Madagascar, Iran, UAE, Yemen, Bangladsh, Tanzania, Mozambique, Kenya, South Africa and Singapore.

Our prayers with people in that whole region in this time of uncertainty.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14,053 other subscribers