AFRIMA 2017 nominations out: Jah Prayzah and Rue in for Zimbabwe

The nominations for the fourth edition of the prestigious All Africa Music Awards (AFRIMA) regional categories  were announced last Tuesday, August 8, at a World Press Conference held at Renaissance Hotel, Ikeja in Lagos, Nigeria.

Jah Prayzah and Rue of VeryUs are among the few who made up the list. The MTM head honcho will battle Hugh Masekela, Aka, Nasty C, Emtee, Ndunduzo Makhathini (all from South Africa) and Tay Grin (Malawi) for the Best Male act in the Southern African region. Rue nominated for her song Down, will slug it out with Sally Boss Madam (Namibia), Babes Wodumo, Busisiwa, Lebo Segobela, Amanda Black, and Thandiswa (all from South Africa) for Best Female Act.

According to Mr. Chris Cyren, the juror from Southern Africa, 4,816 entries from African music professionals and music artistes were received at the close of a two-month entry submission window on July 17 this year. He described the nominations process as rigorous and thorough, as he emphasized on the Jury’s resolve to be fair and transparent in line with the AFRIMA values of FACEIT (fairness, authenticity, creativity, excellence, integrity, transparency).

Davido ,WizKid, French Montana,Tekno, Ycee, Mr. Eazi, Guinean MHD, DJ Arafat,Tiwa Savage, Yemi Alade, Aramide, Viviane Chidid, Seyi Shay, Becca and Zeynab  are also nominated in their respective regions.

Here is the full list :

Central Africa (Best Female)

Montess – Love Witta Gun Man (Cameroon)
Reniss – Mamamuh (Cameroon)
Ewube – Fall On You (Cameroon)
Nsoki – Africa Unite ft DJ Maphorisa & Paulo Alves (Angola)
Daphne – Calee (Cameroon)
Mimie – Dance Fi You (Cameroon)
Merveilee – Toi (Cameroon)
Bussine – All Africa Party (Gabon)

Central Africa (Best Male)

Maitre Gims – Tout Donner (DRC)
Hiro – Ton Pied, Mon Pied ft Chidinma (DRC)
Big Nelo – O Legado Da Lenda (Angola)
Locko – Supporter ft Mr Leo (Cameroon)
Fally Ipupa – Eleko Oyo (DRC)
Jovie – Ou Meme (Cameroon)
Anselmo Ralph – Casas Comigo (Angola)
Ke Black – Bazardee (DRC)

East Africa (Best Female)

Juliana Kanyamozi – I Am Still Here (Uganda)
Chess Nthusi – Give It to You (Kenya)
Victoria Kimani – Giving You ft Sarkodie (Kenya)
Lady Jaydee – Sawa Na Wao (Tanzania)
Vanessa Mdee – Cash Madam (Tanzania)
Wayna Wondersonn – You Are Not Alone (Ethiopia)
Nandy – One Day (Tanzania)

East Africa (Best Male)

Diamond Platnumz – Eneka (Tanzania)
Sinishaw Legesse – Selam Ethiopia (Ethiopia)
Qritiqual – Malika (Kenya)
Kibrom Birhane – Eskista ft Nassmbu Burasa (Ethiopia)
Henok & Mehari Brothers – Firkir Yishala (Ethiopia)
Alikiba – Aje ft MI Abaga (Tanzania)
Octopizzo – TBT (Kenya)
Mure K.E – Excuse my Language (Kenya)

Southern Africa (Best Female)

Sally Boss Madam – Bimbim ft Busiswa (Namibia)
Babes Wodumo – Family ft Maphorisa & Cassper Nyovest (South Africa)
Busiswa – Inggongo (South Africa)
Lebo Segobela – Lion of Judah (South Africa)
Amanda Black – Amazulu (South Africa)
Rue – Down (Zimbabwe)
Thandiswa – Nontsokolo (South Africa)

Southern Africa (Best Male)

Hugh Masekela – Shango (South Africa)
AKA – The World is Yours (South Africa)
Nasty C – Down South ft Seyi Shay & Ma E (South Africa)
Tay Grin – Tola ft Vanessa Mdee (Malawi)
Emtee – We Up (South Africa)
Jah Prayzah – Watora Mari ft Diamond Platnumz (Zimbabwe)
Nduduzo Makhathini – Igagu (South Africa)

West Africa (Best Female)

Oumou Sangare – Yere Faga ft Tony Allen (Mali)
Aramide – Why So Serious (Nigeria)
Viviane Chidid – Lon Kelen (Senegal)
Yemi Alade – Tumbum (Nigeria)
Seyi Shay – Yolo Yolo (Nigeria)
Tiwa Savage – All Over (Nigeria)
Becca – Na Wash ft Patoranking (Ghana)
Zeynab – Noctambule ft Shadow Chris (Benin)

West Africa (Best Male)

Runtown – Mad Over You (Nigeria)
Sarkodie – Pain Killer (Ghana)
Wizkid – Come Closer ft Drake (Nigeria)
DJ Arafat – Agbangnan (Ivory Coast)
Mr Eazi – Leg Over (Nigeria)
MHD – La Puissnace (Guinea)
YCee – Juice (Nigeria)Davido – Fall (Nigeria)
Tekno – Rara (Nigeria)

North Africa (Best Female)

Ibitssam Tiskat – Menak Wla Meni (Morocco)
Zaho – Tant De Choses (Algeria)
Assma Lmnawar –  3ndou Zine (Morocco)
Sherine – Koul Maghani (Egypt)
Zina Daoudia – Sayidati (Morocco)
Cheba Maria – Kheltini (Algeria)

North Africa (Best Male)

Fnaire – Ngol Mali (Morocco)
Shayfeen – Wach Kayn Wader (Morocco)
French Montana – Unforgettable (Morocco)
Balti – Wela la (Tunisia)
Tasmer Hosny – Ya Maley 3eny (Egypt)
L’algerino – Les Monetess (Algeria)
Saad Lmjarred – Ghaltana (Morocco)
Lacrim – Collonel Carillo (Algeria)

Note well that only the Best Female Artistes and Best Male Artistes of the five regions have been released.The nominees in the continental categories will be announced on shortly.

Public voting for the nominees in the different categories of the awards will open on August 21, 2017 on In partnership with the AUC, A range of rich and exhilarating events for The AFRIMA 2017 such as the Music Village and the AFRIMA Music Business Summit are slated on November 10-12, and will be broadcast across 84 countries around the world.

For more visit their site here :