12th NAMA Nominees Full List

THE National Arts Council of Zimbabwe (NACZ) has released the nominees for the 12th edition of the National Arts Merit Awards (NAMA).

The annual arts industry awards ceremony will be held in the country’s second largest city on 16 February 2013 in the Large City Hall in Bulawayo.

Meanwhile NAMA is inviting members of the public to select an artist or art product of their own choice based on the nominees released today. This is done through sending an sms from an Econet number, prefixed by the word NAMA to 15626. NAMA is finalizing arrangement with other networks in order to afford all cellular subscribers an opportunity to vote. The people’s choice award will also be awarded to the winning artist on the awards night at the Large City Hall on 16th February 2013.

Three Men On a Boat has been nominated in the Online Media Category.

The 12th NAMA Nominees are as follows;


Outstanding Dance group



National Ballet

Outstanding Female Dancer

Melany Caruthers –     Titanium

Loveness Mambakwa – Bembera Arts Ensemble

Siphephiso Magonya   – IYASA


Outstanding Male Dancer

Peter Lenso     –           Mi Works

Arthur Ndlovu            –           Magesh

David Machowa         –           Apama

Outstanding Choreographer

Tinashe            –           Magesh

Alfonis Ndlovu  –        Abatsha

Brian Geza      –           National Ballet



Outstanding Actor

Teddy Mangava in Diamonds in His Son’s Grave     by Rooftop

Charles Matare in Wusiku       by Rooftop

Zenzo Nyathi  in Stitsha by Amakhosi


Outstanding Actress

Rumbidzai Karize in When Angels Weep

Caroline Mashingaidze in Ten Bush

Nothando Nobengula             in Wusiku and Ten Bush


Outstanding Theatrical production

Eclipsed  by Reps Theatre

Wusiku  by Rooftop Promotions

When Angels Weep by MNK Production

Outstanding Director

Zane Lucas      for  Eclipsed   – Reps Theatre

Eunice Tava    for  Diamond’s in His Son’s Grave     – Rooftop

Styx Mhlanga for  The Burrow – Amakhosi Theatre Productions



Outstanding Mix Media Work

Humming Bird by       Johnson Zuze

Melodies from the Mermaid   by  Forbes Mushipe

Ecosystem by  Richard Mpumha,


Outstanding 2 Dimensional Work

Cloud Nine     by        Taurai Dhliwayo

Ceremonial Dancers    by  Itai Njangu

Morning Light  by       David Chinyama,


Outstanding 3 Dimensional Work

Unto Us a Child Is Born         by        Israel Israel

Family in Mind           by        Raphael Machinjili

Never Ending  by       Washington Matafi


Outstanding Exhibition

Spirit of Friendship     by  National Gallery of Zimbabwe in Bulawayo

The Cycle        by        Davina Jovi

Inhlama  by     Nonhlanhla Mathe



Outstanding Comedian

Clive Chigubhu

Carl Joshua Ncube

Ntandoyenkosi Moyo

Outstanding Poet

Tatenda Chinoda

Sithandazile Dube

Isaac Lambada


Outstanding Female Musician

Plaxedes Wenyika

Hope Masike

Cindy Munyavi

Outstanding Male Musician

Donald Chirisa aka Sniper

Enock Guni aka Knox

Sulumani Chimbetu aka Sulu


Outstanding Song

Gochi Gochi    by        Mukudzei Mukombe aka Jah Prayzah

Love YeMusoja          by        Donald Chirisa aka Sniper Storm

Ndinonyara     by        Enock Guni  aka Knox


Outstanding Album

Love YeMusoja          –           Donald Chirisa

Shongwe         –           Blessing Shumba

Syllabus           –           Sulumani Chimbetu



Outstanding Actor

James Mariseni “Jingo”           in  The Kiss

Lloyd Kurima             in         Bag Rabvaruka

Cyril Sadat Sanhewe  in         Kiriboni The Menace


Outstanding Actress

Qeqeshiwe Mntambo in         Suku

Sara Mpofu     in         Tshuz Mazikhethela & in  Reunite

Locadia Matenga        in         Delete


Outstanding Music Video

Ruvimbo         by        Energy Mutodi

Amai Bhoyi     by        Jutal

Mativenga       by        Roki


Outstanding Screen Production (Television)

Delete  by        Shupai Kamunyaru

One family Can           by        Animators In Action

Tshuz Mazikhethela    by        ZBC Production


Outstanding Screen Production (Full Length film)

The Kiss          by        Cyril Sadat Sanhewe

Suku    by        Gugulethu Ndlovu

Simbimbino     by        Von Tavaziva


Outstanding Screen Production (Short Film)

Inhlanhla         by        Fortune Tazvivinga

Ivevane           by        Black Toe Productions

Mind games    by        Charles Mawungwa



Outstanding fiction Book

Taking The Lead                      by       Sibongile Mnkandla

Chioniso And Other Stories   by        Shimmer Chinodya

The Incubus                            by        Samachai Kawengo


Outstanding Children’s book

Panic On Fun Day      by        Farai Nyandoro

My Daughter   by        Albert Nyathi

Meri Nebhutsu Tsvuku           by        Ignatius Mabasa

Outstanding First creative Published Work

From Where The Wind Blows            by        Oliver Nyambi and Tendai Mangena (Eds.)

Once A Lover Always A Fool            by        Philani Amadeus Nyoni


Outstanding Journalist (Print)

Margaret Chinowaita

Raisedon Baya

Mthandazo Dube

Outstanding Journalist (Television)

Sifiso Mpofu

Terrence Mapurisana

Leonard Mabvara

Outstanding Online Media

The Writers International Network

Three Men On A Boat


Outstanding Journalist (Radio)

No nominees


Outstanding Promoter of the Year

C & A Entertainment

Brumat t/a Horizon Bar and Restaurant

Chipaz Promotions

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14,192 other subscribers